TRULY HAPPILY EVER AFTER

Standard

It takes a lot to surprise me. In the last several years, I’ve developed a thicker hide, and experienced more than most people do (or hopefully have to) in a lifetime. When this story was brought to my attention, it reminded me of what felt like a similar story, one that ended much differently.

At a boarding/breeding barn where I’d kept Buddy, many years ago, a colt was born to their stud and one of their broodmares. Their band always produced offspring with the best dispositions, and this colt was no exception. Even as a youngster, he would be playful, but never aggressive. Once their colts & fillies were yearlings, they were turned out regularly with the rest of their horses for socializing. What actually happened to the colt, nobody actually saw, and the vets could only speculate, but from time to time, you’d catch something out of the corner of your eye, and stop to look closer. When you’d examine him up close, nothing appeared to be amiss, he was the same happy little guy all the time. You’d shake your head, assume you’d just imagined it, and go on about your day.

Over time, the mysterious sightings became more frequent, and to a wider audience. It was enough to make the call to the area’s Veterinary college, and make an appointment. He rode happily and quietly to the clinic, greeted every new person enthusiastically, and quickly became a favored patient. When they completed their exam, they found that the bizarre behavior was due to him having a broken neck. They guessed he’d probably done it playing in the field, and had learned how to carry himself, so it didn’t hurt. My heart still hurts remembering this. I don’t recall the details to be honest, but it was determined, that he was essentially a walking bomb, who would implode at any moment, and the kindest course of action, was to put him down. The school happened to have a study ongoing, that tied in to his condition, and asked, if they could keep him safely and comfortably, if they would be permitted to keep him though the study, then euthanize him afterwards, which the owners agreed to, and bid him a fond farewell. They told me, how everyone at the school gushed over him, how sweet he was, how well-behaved, and mostly, how sad the end of his life was.

With that memory in the back of my mind, when Bonny’s story came to my inbox, I was skeptical. I almost didn’t watch the video, I was afraid I’d see history repeat itself, only this time, right in front of me, but I’m glad I changed my mind, because this little mare beat the odds, and even through tears, brought such a smile to my face.

Hein Ungerer contacted me by commenting on one of my last posts, asking if I would be willing to share Bonny’s story with my readers. Here’s what he told me… “Bonny is a pony whose neck was broken when she was hit by a car. Her owner neglected to take in for veterinary care and left her neck to heal on its own. This left her with a severe disfigurement and although she copes well she can no longer pull a cart or give rides. So, her economic worth diminished and her chance of ending up at an abattoir was real. Her owner however had enough compassion for her to take her to a place of safety where she now lives. This is her story.”

image

image

If you have questions, or would like to learn more, please feel free to contact Hein directly.

Hein Ungerer
followthespoor@gmail.com
http://www.youtube.com/followthespoor

 

You can also “like” Bonny’s new home on Facebook here:

https://www.facebook.com/TomRoHavenForEquinesAndChildren?pnref=story

 

Call me a sucker, but I do love a happy ending!

One thought on “TRULY HAPPILY EVER AFTER

Leave a Reply

