PARTNERSHIP ANNOUNCEMENT, AND AN ENGLISH TO ENGLISH LESSON

Standard

I’m proud to announce a new partnership, with Sam Hobden, and her website, “Haynet” (www.hay-net.co.uk). Sam founded the site in September of 2011, after she began blogging, and discovering there really wasn’t one central place to find other equine blogs in. By creating her page, she’s built a home for equine bloggers, though UK-based, where all are welcomed and encouraged to share (and membership is free!). It isn’t so much a website, as a community. She’s pleased that the members have embraced the idea of posting on the network and communicating with each other, and truly enjoys learning about everyone through their posts. From personal experience, in just the short time I’ve been a member, I’ve been made to feel very comfortable. Once I got set up, I began with a simple post to say hello and introduce my blog to the other members. I received immediate responses from other members, greeting me in turn and welcoming me to the site.

With my new “family across the pond,” and the visiting Brits in my day job office yesterday, as I often am by day to day activities, I was inspired. While Equine proves to be a universal language, the individual dialects tend to vary by region. Compliments of a quick troll through Wikipedia, here’s a quick reference guide to some common words and phrases that sound a little different, depending on where you take your boots off at night:

image

1. In the US, we have “footing,” in the UK, it’s known as “going.” If I were in the UK then, would I ask, how your horse is going in the going?
image

2. In the US, our horses wear “halters,” in the UK, they wear “headcollars.”
image

3. When saddling in the US, we put a “pad” under our saddles, in the UK, you’d use a “numnah.”
image

4. In the US, you’d then do up the “girth strap,” but in the UK, you’d use the “billets.”
image

5. It’s getting colder, in the US, we’re putting “blankets” on our horses to keep them warm and dry, in the UK, they’re wearing “rugs.” From my tack store days, I remember selling one from Rambo called the “Wug.” I hated selling it, because I always wondered if people thought I was either not very smart, or had a speech impediment.
image

6. If you can’t keep your horse at home in the US, you’d keep it in a “boarding barn,” keep it in the UK, at a “livery.”
image

7. Inside that US barn, you’d find “box stalls,” in the UK, “loose boxes.”
image

8. An unhappy stalled horse in the US might “stall-walk or weave,” so following suit in the UK, you’d have a “box-walker.”        I had a mare that was a weaver in her stall, and sometimes when I sat on her at shows, which could rock me to sleep!
image

9. They might do better turned-out in the “paddock,” in the US, or the “yard,” in the UK.
image

10. In the US, we all hope for an “easy-keeper,” and in the UK, a “good doer,” to keep feed expenses reasonable.

 

No matter which side of the pond you’re from, I’m sure there are plenty more words and phrases I’m not privvy to, feel free to comment and share!  Any time you get to visit another pin on the globe, it’s nice to get familiar with the vernacular, and share a little of your own.  I’m looking forward to more sharing with my new Haynet friends!

 

 

Leave a Reply

